Our History


Lodovico Frattola, Professor of neurology at the University of Milan, is transferred to the “Edoardo Bassini” Hospital in Cinisello Balsamo, following the decision to open a new biomedical centre of the Milanese university in north of the city.


On 1st October, Costantino Mangioni, Professor of gynaecology, is the first lecturer at the University of Milan to be transferred to the “San Gerardo dei Tintori” Hospital in Monza.


Lodovico Frattola was appointed teaching coordinator and subsequently Director of the San Gerardo Institute of Biomedical Sciences, established at the Monza hospital, which also included Milanese lecturers, who had in the meantime been transferred from the Cinisello Balsamo Hospital. The Institute initially includes lecturers, assistant professors and technical staff of the following disciplines: Obstetrics and Gynaecology (Costantino Mangioni), Paediatrics (Giuseppe Masera), Child Neuropsychiatry (Mario Bertolini), Neurology (Lodovico Frattola), Internal Medicine (Gemino Fiorelli) and General Surgery (Francesco Lavorato). The students of the University of Milan have access to hospital wards and they can attend lessons of the second (clinical) three-year period at the Monza facilities.


In October, the Ministry of Scientific Research approves a three-year development plan for Italian universities that provides for the establishment of a second university in Milan.


In March, a programme agreement was signed between the University of Milan and the Ministry of University and Research for the creation of a new university. At the end of the same year, the National Assistance Agency for Agents and Commercial Representatives (ENASARCO) with a special agreement with the Ministry of Labour, guarantees the funds for the construction of a building in Monza.


The San Gerardo Hospital sells the area located in the north of the hospital (9,800 square metres) to the company “Progetto Bicocca”, which deals with the construction of the building designed by Remo Dorigati, architect of the Polytechnic University of Milan. ENASARCO buys the facility and leases it to the University.


In June, the Second University of Milan was established, later renamed the University of Milano-Bicocca.


On 10th June, the Faculty of Medicine and Surgery is officially inaugurated, with headquarters in the new building, called U8. The President is Lodovico Frattola, elected on 2nd June. At the time of the inauguration, the Faculty is made up of 45 lecturers, 30 assistant professors and 6 technicians. At San Gerardo Hospital, 13 divisions out of 40 are headed by university directors. There are two specialisation schools (Obstetrics and Gynaecology and Orthopaedics and Traumatology). On 23rd September, the Faculty Council proposes the establishment of four departments:

  • Neuroscience and Biomedical Technologies
  • Experimental Medicine, Environmental Medicine and Biotechnology
  • Clinical Medicine, Prevention and Applied Biotechnology
  • Surgical Sciences and Intensive Care

On 5th October, the lessons in U8 officially begin

On 1st November, Marcello Fontanesi begins his mandate as Rector of the University of Milano-Bicocca.


On 20 July, in Monza, the first students graduate in Medicine and Surgery.


The Medicine Library of the U8 building is opened to the public.


On 27 April, Andrea Stella was elected new President of the Faculty.


A new building dedicated to teaching is opened inside the biomedical campus of Monza, called U18.


Following the legislative changes resulting from Law no. 240 of 30 December 2010, the Faculty was terminated and the lecturers and the assistant professors become part of two departments:

  • Department of Health Sciences (DISS) with Director Maria Cristina Messa
  • Department of Surgery and Interdisciplinary Medicine with Director Marco Baldoni

In the same year, the School of Medicine and Surgery is established, with Antonio M. Pesenti as President.


Maria Cristina Messa is elected Rector of the University of Milano-Bicocca.

Maria Grazia Valsecchi is the new Director of the Department of Health Sciences.

The Department of Surgery and Interdisciplinary Medicine changes its name to the Department of Surgery and Translational Medicine.


The Department of Health Sciences and the Department of Surgery and Translational Medicine are terminated and the School of Medicine and Surgery is established, which also includes the functions of School. Maria Grazia Valsecchi is elected Director of the new Department.

In November, a new building dedicated to research was inaugurated in the biomedical campus of Monza, called U28.


The course in English “Medicine and Surgery” is established at ASST Papa Giovanni XXIII in Bergamo.


The School of Medicine and Surgery is selected as a “department of excellence” by the Ministry of Education, University and Research, the first in Italy in the medical field.

The “Virgilio Programme” is launched, coordinated by the University of Milano-Bicocca, with the partnership of the University of Milan and of the Humanitas University. The normal programme of study in medicine is integrated with seminars and laboratory experiences, aimed at providing selected students with the tools that allow their active participation in scientific research.


Giovanna Iannantuoni is elected Rector of the University of Milano-Bicocca, succeeding Maria Cristina Messa.


In February, Maria Cristina Messa, lecturer at the School of Medicine and Surgery, was appointed Minister of Universities and Research.

In June, all the buildings of the university change their names, each acquiring names inspired by classical culture. In the biomedical campus of Monza, the buildings are renamed as follows: Asclepius (building U8), Ygeia (building U18) and Kytos (building U28).

In July, Pietro Invernizzi was elected Director of the School of Medicine and Surgery, succeeding Maria Grazia Valsecchi.